New Books in the Library 11/2020


Waldman, Amy:      A Door in the Earth.
An American college student travels to Afghanistan to work in a charitable foundation.

Lerner, Ben:             The Topeka School.
Award-winning novel deals with a family reckoning with its past.

McCann, Colum:      Apeirogon: a Novel.
A Palestinian and an Israeli inhabit a world of conflict in this tale of shared loss.

Eliasberg, Jan:           Hannah’s War
A thrilling wartime story if love, deception an espionage.

Carner, Talia:             The Third Daughter.
In the late 1800s a father gives up his daughter to a wealthy stranger, who takes her to Buenos Aires, and sold to a brothel. This dark period of Jewish history is brought to life.

Beanland, Rachel:      Florence Adler Swims Forever.
Atlantic City, 1934, a debut novel with tragedy and loss.

Solomon, Anna:          The Book of V.
Overlapping stories of three strong women over centuries.

Maum, Courtney:        Costalegre.
In the voice of a 15 year old girl, this tale of war and art is well reviewed.

Ludwig, Sidura:            You are Not What We Expected.

Blumfeld, Amy:            The  Cast.
A group of ninth graders meet up again twenty five years later for an unforgettable three days filled with life-altering choices.

Chaudhry, Mamta:       Haunting Paris.
Family secrets and a search for a child in Paris.

Dow, David:                 Confessions of an Innocent Man, a Novel. Page turning novel by local Law professor.


Berg, Raffi:                 Red Sea Spies: the true story of Mossad’s fake diving resort.
The daring Mossad operation behind enemy lines, rescuing Jewish Ethiopians.

Eger, Rabbi Denise:   Mishkan Ga’avah: Where Pride Dwells.A celebration of LGBTQ Jewish Life and Ritual.
A groundbreaking collection of LGBTQ prayers, poems, liturgy and rituals.

Schachtel, Bard:    Whose Fault is That?A Journey into Blaming and other Musings.
Discussions on analyzing relationships and solutions.

Morinis, Alan:         Everyday Holiness: The Jewish Spiritual Path of Mussar.
An illuminating introduction to the teachings for personal growth.

Copeland, Libby:    The Lost Family: How DNA Testing is upending who we are.
A discussion of the impact of home testing of  DNA.

Levy, Naomi:          Einstein and the Rabbi: Searching for the Soul.
Inspired by a letter of Einstein’s, Rabbi Levy searches for spiritual meaning.

Amsel, Nachum:      The Encyclopedia of Jewish Values; Between Man and Man.

Lester, Julius:            Let’s Talk about Race.
Directed at children, this classic book addresses contemporary issues.

The Koren Tanach of the Land of Israel.

Lebrecht, Norman:    Genius & Anxiety: How Jews Changed the World, 1847-1947.
An absorbing, well-told story of Jewish achievement.

Oz, Amos:      Dear Zealots: Letters from a Divided Land.
Three passionate lectures about the state of politics in Israel.

Sandberg, Sheryl:       Option B: Facing Adversity, Building Resilience, and Finding Joy.
How the famous CEO of Facebook finds herself in sudden widow-hood.

Porat, Dan:  The Boy: A Holocaust Story.
How an iconic photo of a boy represents the holocaust.

Gordis, Daniel:          We Stand Divided: The Rift between American Jews and Israel.
An in-depth discussion of the two cultural worlds Jews live in, and how Israel is affected.


Gad, Marra:          The Color of Love: a story of a mixed race Jewish girl.
Fascinating story of an adopted girl and the racism she experienced in her own community.

Eisenfeld, Sue:     Wandering Dixie: Dispatches from the Lost Jewish South.
The author explores small towns in the South where Jewish people once lived and thrived.

Friedman, Miriam:  Rivers of Light; the life of Claire Myers Owens.
The fascinating life of a young Texas woman who finds a community of free spirits in New York.

Moser, Benjamin:    Sontag: her Life and Work.
Moser presents this definitive memoir of the famed author.

Kessler, Rabbi Jimmy:    Ramblings of a Texan Rabbi.
Folksy tales of his life by Galveston’s beloved Rabbi.

Sharansky, Natan:       Never Alone: Prison, Politics and my people.
Sharansky remains the symbol of political freedom, as discussed in his new memoir.

Foer, Esther Safran:     I Want You to know we’re still here: a Post-Holocaust Memoir.
The author goes on a brave journey abroad in search of unsettling family secrets.

Biespiel, David:          A Place of Exodus: Home, Memory and Texas.
Houston native raises questions on the meaning of home.

Rosenthal, Jason:      My Wife Said You May Want to Marry Me.
The husband of the famed children’s author Amy Krouse Rosenthal talks about loss and resilience. Amy wrote an essay in the New York Times shortly before her death, suggesting her husband would be good marriage material.

Heumann, Judith:       Being Heumann: an Unrepentant Memoir of a Disability Activist.
Nationally recognized leader of a movement tells her amazing story.

Cole, Thomas:       Old Man Country: My Search for Meaning Among the Elders.
Profiles of seniors who have made contributions and inspiration, including Rabbi Samuel Karff.

Hurwitz, Sarah:       Here All Along: Finding meaning, spirituality and deeper connection to life- in Judaism.
Former Presidential speechwriter finds new meaning in her life.

Shapiro, Dani:     Inheritance: A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity and Love.
Fascinating memoir or what happens when you discover via DNA analysis your birth parents?